Armed Security Officer "Blue Card" Course

The CT Pistol Permit Class 1 Endorsement Course

At the conclusion of this approved State Police course you will be able to submit your paperwork to a security service or company to become a pistol permit licensed Class 1 armed security officer. The class includes 8 hours of classroom instruction and a firing range qualification.


Group Classes    
 
       

- June 22, Thursday ( Full Class)
- July 7, Friday
- July 17, Monday
- July 28, Friday
- August 7, Monday
- August 18, Friday
- August 28, Monday 
- September 11, Monday
- September 22, Friday

- Also held anytime during the week when you need it! Just call 203-947-4327.

Note: Qualified veterans and military personnel are fully reimbursed for this course through the US Department of Veterans Affairs...see below.

A licensed certification card with the Firearms Permit Endorsement Class 1 on your CT Permit for Pistols and Revolvers is required for armed security guards in the State of Connecticut. This is known as the Blue Card.

You may take this armed security officers course prior to being offered an armed security position with a licensed security agency. The security company is required to submit your paperwork  to the State Police License and Firearms Unit. The Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection is responsible for issuing your Blue Card Endorsement  once all requirements are met. The endorsement on your pistol permit is good for five years and then renewable as applicable. You will be required to attend a review class with firearm qualification course annually which we provide.

Basic Requirements for Armed Security Officers in Connecticut:

  • Must be at least 21 years old 
  • United States citizen or legal alien 
  • No felony convictions or any crime involving the illegal use of weapons 
  • Never disqualified from owning a firearm 
  • Successful criminal background check 
  • Fingerprinting 
  • Passport photo 
  • No previous security license denial 
  • Drug testing may be required 
  • Good moral character 
  • Connecticut State Pistol Permit (Resident or Non-Resident)
  • Blue Card Firearms permit endorsement Class 1 permit from Connecticut State Police  (through HF LearnSafety LLC)

What you will Learn:

  •  Identify and demonstrate firearm nomenclature and safety issues regarding the use and safe 
         storage of firearms.  
  • Identify and demonstrate on duty firearm carry techniques with the appropriate equipment. 
  • Discuss and understand Connecticut General Statutes regarding firearm use of force and security 
         officer laws. 
  • The technical aspects and legal responsibilities inherent in carrying and using a firearm as an 
         armed security officer. 
  • Use of force (reasonable and deadly)

How you will graduate from the course: 

  • Successfully pass a written examination with an 80% or higher score.
  • Pass a Live Course of Fire Firearms Qualification with an 80% or higher score.
  • Cost: $280. per person including outdoor range fee. Students bring their firearm, ammunition and duty belt (optional) to class. Indoor range fee additional.
  • Firearm rental available through HF LearnSafety.
  • Pre-registration and advance payment is required.

This course, only through HF LearnSafety LLC, is approved for reimbursement by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs using VA Form 22-0803. HF LearnSafety is also approved by the State of Connecticut Office of Financial and Academic Affairs for Higher Education for veterans employment.

Annual Blue Card Renewal Classroom and Firearm Qualification for Current Class 1 Armed Security Guards

  • Tuition: $165. includes outdoor range fee. This class is also reimbursed by the VA for qualifying veterans. Indoor range fee additional.
  • Classes are also conducted On Demand, same tuition.


HF LearnSafety Cancellation Policy: No refunds are available. If you are unable to attend a pre-registered class, you may reschedule by contacting us no later than three days prior to the class date. You may only reschedule once and must take the rescheduled class within a two-month period. Class registration is transferable to another person.